To be or not to be a Teacher

This last three months have been a kind of ongoing, sometimes interrupted long conversation about what education means in our countries, Argentina, Finland, India, Morocco and Singapur, including of course our host country, the US. But  it has been mainly about being a teacher.

I can’t imagine more different and diverse societies as all these six ones I’ve mentioned, including the amazing India, which in the words of our dear Indian Fulbrighters, it’s not only a nation but a whole continent. However one of the impressions I have after so many sharing about our common field of interest is that no matter all the efforts the governments and private organizations invest in a greater or lesser extent, it’s the daily work of millions of committed teachers what keep the boat rowing. It was one of the conclusions at which we arrived in one of our long discussions last Saturday after eating a delicious food and enjoying good company. Even Mikko proposed that our group  should write a book about our teaching experience. We should get some nice generous sponsor, but this is other story.

Yesterday, coming from a store where at last I found a dream backpack for my laptop and more, had to wait for the bus for half an hour. It was not late, about 6 pm, but these days gets dark at 5 and my hands and face were freezing. So, when suddenly, a UMD shuttle appeared I run to find out if it went to campus. I took it and some blocks after, a student  sat in front of me and opened the book Gente and started completing some homework. This is a text for learning Spanish and being the girl apparently from Muslim origin, I started wondering the reasons why she studied this language.

The people that know me well are aware that I am very shy out of the classroom if I have to talk to someone. That was the reason that prevented me from asking her about her course, but mostly to ask her if she needed help. I started smiling because it downed on me that what I was missing was Teaching. And then I concluded that this long conversation I mentioned at the beginning is our way of teaching among ourselves about the passion that brought us together, teaching.

Estos ultimos tres meses han sido como una larga y a veces interrumpida conversacion acerca de lo que la educacion significa en nuestros paises, Argentina, Finlandia, India, Marruecos y Singapur, incluyenod a nuestro anfitrion EEUU. Pero ha sido mas que nada acerca de ser un profesor

No me puedo imaginar sociedades mas difereDSCN1147 DSCN1160 DSCN3467ntes y diversas como las de estos seis paises mencionados, incluyendo la sorprendente India, que segun las propias Fulbrighters de alli, India no es un pais, sino mas bien un continente.Sin embargo, una de las impresiones que me quedan despues de tanto discutir el tema es que no importa cuanto esfuerzo los gobiernos o instituciones privadas inviertan en educacion en mayor o menor medida, quienes mantienen el bote andando somos los maestros y profesores. Esta tambien fue una de las conclusiones a las que llegamos charlando con Mikko luego de una deliciosa cena en famila. Mikko incluso propuso que los Fulbrighters deberiamos escribir un libro acerca de nuestra experiencia como docentes. Deberiamos conseguir unos buenos y acaudalados sponsors, pero esa es otra historia.

Ayer, volviendo de un negocio donde encontre la mochila de mis suenos para guardar mi laptop y mas, tuve que esperar media hora el colectivo.No era tarde, mas o menos las 6, pero aqui esta oscureciendo a las 5. Y mis manos se estaban congelando. De pronto veo que se aproxima un shuttle de la universidad de Maryland y corro a preguntar si me lleva al campus. A las pocas cuadras sube una estudiante, se sienta enfrente mio y saca un libro GENTE, que es para la ensenanza de espanol, y se puso a hacer unas tareas. La chica parecia de origen Musulman y yo me preguntaba las razones que la habrian llevado a aprender esta lengua.

La gente que me conoce sabe que fuera del aula me cuesta bastante  hablar con alguien extrano. Esa fue la unica razon que me contuvo de acercarme a preguntarle sobre su curso, pero mas que nada a ofrecerle mi ayuda. Y me empece a sonreir sola porque me di cuenta de pronto cuanto extranaba ensenar. Y ahi llegue a la conclusion que esta larga conversacion que mencione al principio es nuestra forma de ensenarnos entre nosotos acerca de la pasion que nos junto en este programa.

2 thoughts on “To be or not to be a Teacher

  1. jeanne manfredi

    Patricia, What a beautiful post…and so true! I know exactly what you mean… the need to be with the kids and teach. Estuve en una clase ayer haciendo una actividad y me sentí como en casa!… el toque de los chicos, el sonido de “profe”, la charla con ellos y con otros docents… me extraña mucho. Tienes muchísimo razón… las leyes y administradores pueden cambiar pero es siempre el que esta con los chico día tras día que logra “la educación”!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

